License to carry.jpg

LICENSE TO CARRY

Classes taught by a licensed Peace Officer

OUR STANDARD COURSE FEES

Standard Rate For Adults

$75

Special For Seniors

60 +

$60

Military & First Responders

$50

Safety Measures offers License to Carry classes in a safe and comfortable environment by patient, supportive and professional Texas DPS certified handgun instructors in Central Texas and surrounding areas.

The Premier License to Carry Course in Central Texas

ABOUT THE LTC COURSE

The LTC course provides you between 4-6 hours of classroom training covering;

  • Laws Relating to Weapons and to the Use of Force

  • Handgun Use and Safety

  • Non-violent Dispute Resolution

  • Proper Storage Practices

Once the classroom is done the applicant would have to do a handgun proficiency qualification that the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires in order to apply for the Texas LTC.  Upon successful completion of this course, you will receive your signed instructor certificate (LTC-100) that you will submit to the state with your license application.

Holiday Inn Express

247 W. Metro Dr.

Leander, Texas 78641

Crazy Gals Cafe

414 E. TX 29

Burnet, Texas 78611

PREREQUISITE

Basic Handgun Proficiency:  The LTC Course is not intended to teach students how to handle or shoot a handgun.  During the shooting portion of the course, you will have to demonstrate that you can safely handle, load, and fire your handgun.

If you need additional training on basic handgun safety prior to taking the LTC course, please visit our Handgun Training Courses link here

Holiday Inn Express

247 W. Metro Dr.

Leander, Texas 78641

REGISTER FOR CLASS

Crazy Gals Cafe

414 E. TX 29

Burnet, Texas 78611

RECIPROCITY

Texas LTC holders may carry a handgun in another state if Texas has a reciprocity agreement with that state. It is important to review the agreement for specific details or limitations. If you are traveling in another state, you are responsible for knowing that state's laws for carrying a handgun. The reciprocity map below details resident and non-resident agreements.

ELIGIBLE REQUIREMENTS

  • Is at least 21 years of age, (military 18 – 21 years old)

  • Has not been convicted of a felony,

  • Is not charged with the commission of a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor, or Disorderly Conduct,

  • Is not a fugitive from justice for a felony, Class A or Class B misdemeanor,

  • Is not a chemically dependent person

  • Is not incapable of exercising sound judgment with respect to the proper use and storage of a handgun.

  • Has not, in the five years preceding the date of application, been convicted of a Class A or Class B misdemeanor or an offense under Disorderly Conduct, Section 42.01, Penal Code,

  • Is fully qualified under applicable federal and state law to purchase a handgun,

  • Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in the payment of a tax or other money collected by the comptroller.

  • Has not been finally determined to be delinquent in making a child support payment administered or collected by the attorney general.

  • Is not currently restricted under a court protective order subject to a restraining order affecting a spousal relationship.

  • Has not, in the 10 years preceding the date of application, been adjudicated as having engaged in delinquent conduct violating a penal law in the grade of felony.

  • Has not made any material misrepresentation, or failed to disclose any material fact, in an application submitted pursuant to Section 411.174 or in a request for application submitted pursuant to Section 411.175

GUN RENTAL AVAILABLE

Gun rentals - $10.00

Ammo - $15.00

RANGE REQUIREMENTS

These requirements are for your safety and the safety of others.
 

  • Eye Protection

  • Over the ear hearing protection- muff type- to cover the ear and the area behind the ear.

  • Footwear must cover the entire foot, no sandals or flip-flops.

  • No shorts will be allowed on the pistol range for safety purposes.

  • Wear a shirt with a collar to the range.

COURSE OF FIRE

Stage 1:

Twenty (20) shots will be fired from 3 yards.

  • (5) shots fired in a "One shot exercise" 2 seconds allowed for each shot

  • (10) shots fired in a "Two-shot exercise" 3 seconds allowed for each 2 shot sequence

  • (5) shots fired in 10 seconds

 

Stage2:

Twenty (20) shots will be fired from 7 yards.

  • (5) shots will be fired in 10 seconds

  • (2) shots will be fired in 4 seconds

  • (3) shots will be fired in 6 seconds

  • (5) will be fired in a "One shot exercise" 3 seconds allowed for each shot

  • (5) shots fired in 15 seconds

 

Stage 3:

Ten shots fired from 15 yards.

  • (2) shots fired in 6 seconds

  • (3) shots fired in 9 seconds

  • (5) shots fired in 15 seconds

RECOMMENDED FOLLOW UP CLASSES

Concealed

Carry & Home Defense

 This course advances the mindset for all individuals considering owning or carrying a firearm for self-defense. It also covers legal aspects of the use of deadly force, including knowing what to do in the aftermath.

Malfunction

Drills

Do you know what to do when your gun malfunctions in the heat of the moment? Let us help you understand why malfunctions occur and how to clear them the most efficient way possible so you can stay in the fight.

$150

Intermediate

Pistol Training

You will go beyond basic operation and start using your firearm in practical situations. You will develop speed and precision while taking tactical measures to better ensure their safety and make better decisions in complex situations.

© 2020 by Safety Measures, LLC created with Wix.com